Through its 28 research teams, the LORIA has recognized expertise in Information and Communication Sciences and Technologies. The laboratory is structured in five departments:

1. Algorithms, Computation, Image & Geometry

2. Formal methods

3. Networks, Systems and Services

4. Natural Language Processing & Knowledge Discovery

5. Complex Systems, Artificial Intelligence and Robotics